Hudson County NJ Shoplifting Attorneys
Just like every other theft related offense in New Jersey, the offense of shoplifting is graded based solely on the dollar amount of the merchandise in question. So, whether a Defendant is facing a disorderly persons offense shoplifting charge or a second, third or fourth degree felony shoplifting charge, the dollar amount of the merchandise will control. A fourth degree felony shoplifting charge is probably one of the most common shoplifting offenses issued in New Jersey. As you will see below, a Defendant will be charged with a fourth degree felony if the value of the merchandise was greater than $200 but less than $500. A conviction would not only scar a Defendant with a felony criminal record but will also subject them to being incarcerated as well. On top of that, shoplifting offenses in general are considered crimes of “moral turpitude” which tends to trigger immigration issues as well.
If you have been charged with shoplifting in Bergen County, Morris County, Monmouth County, Middlesex County or Ocean County, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Our New Jersey shoplifting defense attorneys have literally represented over a thousand different clients accused of shoplifting in various towns throughout the State. We have appeared in courts like the Jersey City Municipal Court, the Edison Municipal Court, the Millburn Municipal Court, the Freehold Municipal Court, the Paramus Municipal Court, the Toms River Municipal Court and the Bridgewater Municipal Court and defend clients accused of shoplifting. We are well aware what a shoplifting conviction can do to one’s life. A conviction for shoplifting will inevitably make obtaining meaningful employment that much more difficult. If you would like to speak to one of our guys about your options then please contact our office at (732) 856-9959. We can discuss the facts of your case, go over the strengths and weakness as we see them and give you honest feedback on what we feel the outcome of your case may be. Now here is some more information on fourth degree felony shoplifting charges, including the penalties if convicted.
Middlesex County NJ 4th Degree Shoplifting Attorney
What Court do I need to go to for a 4th Degree Shoplifting?
All fourth degree felony shoplifting offenses will be transferred to the county Prosecutor’s Office of the county in which the offense occurred. So, if you were charged with a fourth degree felony shoplifting offense in Edison, then the case will be transferred to the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office for review. Conversely, if the charges came out of Paramus, then the matter will be transferred to the Bergen County Prosecutor’s Office for review.
Is there anyway to reduce my felony shoplifting charges to misdemeanors?
Depending on a Defendant’s prior criminal history, it is possible for an experienced New Jersey shoplifting defense attorney to seek to have these charges remanded back to the local municipal court where the incident occurred. If that is the case, the charges will not longer be felony offenses anymore, they will be a disorderly persons offense.
What are the penalties on a Fourth Degree Shoplifting in NJ?
Anyone convicted of a fourth degree felony shoplifting offense is facing up to eighteen (18) months in a State Prison, a fine up to $10,000, a felony criminal record, restitution, community service and possibly probation. With that being said, New Jersey has created a diversionary program known as the Pretrial Intervention Program (PTI). If a Defendant is accepted into this program they will be afforded the opportunity to be placed on a probationary period and if they complete the program without any issues, the pending charges will be outright dismissed. For more information on this program, including if you are eligible or not, please contact our office at (732) 856-9959.
How do I tell What Degree my Shoplifting Charges are in NJ?
As touched upon earlier, shoplifting is just like every other theft offense, the degree of the offense will be dictated by the dollar amount in questions. Here is a chart that helps illustrate what the cutoff between different degree is.
- 2nd Degree Felony Shoplifting:
- Value of the merchandise is over $75,000
- 3rd Degree Felony Shoplifting:
- Value of the merchandise is over $500 but less than $75,000
- 4th Degree Felony Shoplifting:
- Value of the merchandise is over $200 but less than $500
- Disorderly Persons Offense Felony Shoplifting:
- Value of the merchandise is less than $200
Mercer County NJ Shoplifting Lawyers
If you or a loved one has been charged with shoplifting in Mercer County, Hudson County, Somerset County, Burlington County, Passaic County or elsewhere in New Jersey, we can help. Our team of New Jersey shoplifting defense attorneys have been representing clients accused of shoplifting in courts throughout the state for almost a decade now. These are extremely serious charges, ones that if not handled properly could drastically affect your future. If you would like to schedule a free initial consultation today, please contact us at (732) 856-9959. We are standing by to help assist in anyway that we can.