Middlesex County NJ Shoplifting Defense Lawyer
If you have been charged with shoplifting in the third degree in New Jersey it is crucial that you speak to an experienced shoplifting defense attorney as soon as possible about your options. All third degree shoplifting charges will be heard in the county courthouse in county where the incident happened. As you will see below, the potential penalties that an individual faces when being charged with a third-degree shoplifting offense can be life-changing. They include up to five years in a state prison and up to a $15,000 fine. If you are loved one has been charged with shoplifting in Monmouth County, Morris County, Passaic County, Bergen County, Middlesex County, Hudson County or Burlington County, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Our office has extensive experience representing individuals accused of shoplifting. These type of offenses rather time sensitive, as one of the first things that our office does is send out a subpoena to the store directly requesting any all video surveillance. Some of the most common stores that we deal with our Macy’s, Lord & Taylor, ShopRite, Home Depot, Best Buy, Apple, Sephora, JCPenney and Neiman Marcus.
If you would like to come into our office for a face-to-face consultation with one of our New Jersey shoplifting defense attorneys that please contact us at (732) 856-9959. Are shoplifting defense lawyers have been representing clients accused of shoplifting in courts throughout the state including the Paramus Municipal Court, the Bridgewater Municipal Court, the Woodbridge Municipal Court, Passaic County Superior Court, the Monmouth County Superior Court and the Ocean County Superior Court. For more information on third degree shoplifting charges in New Jersey, please see below.
Charged with a third degree Shoplifting Charge in New Jersey?
Anyone charged with third degree shoplifting offense in New Jersey should seek the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your options. Shoplifting charges are just like every other theft related offense in New Jersey. The degree of the offense will be determined solely by the dollar amount of the merchandise in question. Meaning whether a Defendant is charged with a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor) or a second, third or fourth degree felony will depend solely on the value of the merchandise. Here is a chart that will break down what those dollar amounts are.
- A Defendant will be charged with a second degree felony if the value of the merchandise is in excess of $75,000.
- A Defendant will be charged with a 3rd degree felony if the value of the merchandise is in excess of $500 but less than $75,000.
- A Defendant will be charged with a fourth degree felony if the value of the merchandise is in excess of $200 but less than $500,
- Lastly, a defendant will be charged with a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor) if the value of the merchandise is less than $200.
What are the Penalties for a third degree shoplifting offense in NJ?
Anyone convicted of a third degree felony shoplifting offense New Jersey will be facing up to five years in a State Prison, a fine up to $15,000, community service, restitution if applicable, a felony criminal record and a $150 civil penalty. In addition, if this is the Defendant’s third or subsequent shoplifting conviction, then they must be sentenced to at least 90 days in the county jail. With that being said New Jersey has created several diversionary programs which a defendant charged with a third-degree shoplifting offense may be able to take advantage of. Those programs include the Pretrial Intervention Program, the Conditional Dismissal Program and Drug Court. For more information on these programs please contact our office at (732) 856-9959.
Shoplifting Attorneys in Somerset NJ
As you can see from above, the potential penalties for a third degree shoplifting conviction are severe. If you or a loved one have been charged with shoplifting in towns like Brick, Tinton Falls, Jersey City, Wayne, Paramus, Bridgewater, Rockaway, Edison or else we’re New Jersey, we can help. Our attorneys are well aware of what a criminal conviction for shoplifting can do to your future. we are ready and willing to help assist in anyway that we can. To schedule a free consultation today, please contact us at (732) 856-9959.