2nd Degree Shoplifting Charges

Contact us for a free consultation and our attorneys will assist you immediately

schedule consultation

Monmouth County NJ Shoplifting Lawyer

Second degree shoplifting charges are very serious offenses in New Jersey. In fact, if convicted, a Defendant would not only be facing mandatory incarceration but the sentence could be up to a decade. In addition to that, they could be fined up to $150,000 and would almost certainly be facing deportation proceedings if they fall under that category as well. If you or a loved one has been charged with shoplifting in New Jersey it is crucial that you speak to an experienced shoplifting defense attorney as soon as possible about your options. Our office has been defending clients accused of shoplifting in courts throughout New Jersey, including the Mercer County Superior Court, the Hudson County Superior Court, the Essex County Superior Court, the Lawrence Municipal Court, the Jersey City Municipal Court, the Edison Municipal Court and the Toms River Municipal Court. If you would like to come into our office and sit down with one of our New Jersey shoplifting defense attorneys to discuss your options then please contact us at (800) 463-0506.

Our shoplifting attorneys have been representing clients accused of not only shoplifting but possession of burglary tools, endangering the welfare of a child, leader of a shoplifting ring, trespassing and burglary in New Jersey for almost a decade now.  Our team of shoplifting defense attorneys are well aware of what a shoplifting conviction, let alone one for a second degree felony could be do to one’s future. These charges are very serious and as such require the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Now here is some key information on second degree felony shoplifting charges.

Shoplifting Charges in NJ

Shoplifting charges in New Jersey are broken down into four separate degrees. They are a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor), a fourth degree felony, a third degree felony and a second degree felony. The degree in which a Defendant is charged with will be based entirely on the dollar amount of the merchandise in question. Here is a breakdown of the different degrees:

  • 2nd Degree – If the value of the merchandise is greater than $75,000 then a Defendant will be charged with a second degree felony. Anyone convicted of a second degree felony will be facing anywhere from five to ten years in a State Prison, a fine up to $150,000, community service, a felony criminal record and restitution if applicable.
  • 3rd Degree – If the value of the merchandise is greater than $500 but less than $75,000 then a Defendant will be charged with a third degree felony. Anyone convicted of a third degree felony will be facing anywhere from three to five years in a State Prison, a fine up to $15,000, community service, a felony criminal record and restitution if applicable.
  • 4th Degree – If the value of the merchandise is greater than $200 but less than $500 then a Defendant will be charged with a fourth degree felony. Anyone convicted of a fourth degree felony will be facing up to eighteen months in a State Prison, a fine up to $10,000, community service, a felony criminal record and restitution if applicable.
  • Disorderly Persons Offense – If the value of the merchandise is less than $200 then a Defendant will be charged with a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor). Anyone convicted of a disorderly persons offense will be facing up to six months in the county jail, a fine up to $1,000, community service, a criminal record and restitution if applicable.

As you can see from reading above, a second degree felony shoplifting conviction is absolutely devastating to one’s future. It is the highest degree shoplifting charge in New Jersey. In addition, most Defendants charged with a second degree shoplifting offense will also find themselves being charged with being a leader of a shoplifting network. For more information on being the leader of a shoplifting network, please click the link.

Stores we often deal with on Shoplifting Charges

The store that charges a Defendant with shoplifting could play a major role in the outcome of the case. Each store handles things a differently, therefore, it is crucial that you speak to an attorney that not only handles shoplifting charges and appears in the specific court frequently but someone who often deals with the security personnel of the store as well. Here is list of some of the common stores that we deal with:

  • JCPenney
  • ShopRite
  • Stop & Shop
  • Sephora 
  • Lowe’s

New Jersey Shoplifting Defense Attorneys

If you have been charged with a second degree shoplifting offense in New Jersey it is imperative that you speak to an experienced shoplifting defense attorney as soon as possible about your options. Our office represents clients accused of shoplifting in Passaic County, Somerset County, Hunterdon County, Ocean County, Atlantic County and Morris County. If you would like to have a free initial consultation with any one of our attorneys then please contact us directly at (800) 463-0506. We are available around the clock to help assist in anyway that we can.