Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Ocean County Shoplifting Charge

Contact us for a free consultation and our attorneys will assist you immediately

schedule consultation

Ocean County NJ Shoplifting Lawyers

More often than not an individual charged with shoplifting is being forced to deal with the criminal justice system for the very first time. That is because most shoplifting charges stem from a split second lapse in judgement. As such, the attorneys at Proetta & Oliver are dedicated to making sure that a simple mistake does not ruin your future. If you have been charged with shoplifting in Ocean County, in towns like Brick, Toms River, Lacey, Long Beach Island, Berkley and Seaside, we can help. Our attorneys have been representing clients charged with shoplifting in courts throughout New Jersey, including Ocean County for almost a decade now. As you will see below, anyone charged with shoplifting in New Jersey will be facing rather harsh penalties. They include jail time, high fines, community service, probation, mandatory counseling and if applicable, it could lead to severe immigration consequences. Since shoplifting is classified as a crime of moral turpitude, a conviction for this type of offense would almost certainly lead to deportation proceedings.

If you have been charged with shoplifting, receiving stolen property, theft by deception, theft of moveable property, burglary tools or robbery, in Ocean County, it is crucial that you speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney. At Proetta & Oliver our attorneys have successfully handled countless shoplifting cases in courts throughout New Jersey. If you would like to speak with one of our attorneys about your options then please contact us directly at (800) 463-0506. We can discuss the specifics of your case and formulate a game plan on how to defend the charges. We are available immediately for a free consultation.

Shoplifting Charges in Ocean County NJ

Shoplifting offense in New Jersey are broken down into four different degrees. They include a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor) and a second, third or fourth degree felony. What degree of shoplifting a Defendant is charged with will be determined solely by the dollar amount of the merchandise in question. The type of store or the Defendant’s criminal record is irrelevant. Here is a chart that will breakdown the different degrees:

Disorderly Persons Offense Shoplifting Charge 

  • The merchandise in question is less than $200.
  • Up to 6 Months in the Ocean County Jail,
  • Fine up to $1,000,
  • Community Service,
  • Criminal Record,
  • Restitution.

4th Degree Felony Offense Shoplifting Lawyer

  • Merchandise is between $200 and $500.
  • Up to 18 Months in a Prison,
  • Fine up to $10,000,
  • Community Service,
  • Felony Criminal Record,
  • Restitution.

3rd Degree Felony Offense Shoplifting Charges

  • Merchandise is between $500 and $75,000.
  • 3 to 5 Years in a Prison,
  • Fine up to $15,000,
  • Community Service,
  • Felony Criminal Record,
  • Restitution.

2nd Degree Felony Shoplifting Offenses

  • The merchandise must be greater than $75,000.
  • 5 to 10 Years in a Prison,
  • Fine up to $150,000,
  • Community Service,
  • Felony Criminal Record,
  • Restitution.

Where Do I Go To Court?

If you have been charged with a disorderly person offense shoplifting charge then your case will be heard in the local municipal court where the incident occurred. For example, if you are alleged to have shoplifted less than $200 from ShopRite in Brick then you will be forced to defend the charges in the Brick Municipal Court. Conversely, anyone charged with a felony grade shoplifting charge will have their case transferred to the Ocean County Superior Court for disposition. So, using the example above, if you are alleged to have shoplifted more than $200 from ShopRite in Brick then you will be forced to defend the charges in the Ocean County Superior Courthouse, which is located in Toms River. With that being said, an experienced New Jersey shoplifting defense attorney may be able to convince the prosecution to remand the charges back to the local municipal court for disposition. If that is to occur, the then felony charges will be downgraded to a disorderly persons offense. For more information on downgrading shoplifting charges in New Jersey please contact one of our attorneys at (800) 463-0506.

Courts we Frequently Defend Clients Accused of Shoplifting in Ocean County

If you have been charged with shoplifting in Ocean County, the attorneys at Proetta & Oliver can help. Our office has been defending clients accused of shoplifting in following courts for years now:

Toms River NJ Shoplifting Defense Attorneys

Being charged with a criminal offense can be extremely stressful. However, hiring the right attorney can go a long way to alleviating that stress. If you have been charged with shoplifting in towns like Toms River, Lakewood, Brick, Lacey, Jackson, Long Beach, Stafford and Ocean Township and would like a initial consultation with one of our attorneys then please contact us at(800) 463-0506. We are available immediately for a free initial consultation. Do not let a simple mistake ruin your future.

%d bloggers like this: