New Jersey Receiving Stolen Property Lawyers
If you have been charged with receiving stolen property in New Jersey, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Receiving stolen property charges normally arise out of a situation in which the prosecution does not believe that they have a strong enough case to obtain a shoplifting or theft conviction. Just like every other theft related crime in New Jersey, receiving stolen property can either be a disorderly persons offense or a second, third or fourth degree felony. Therefore, depending on the degree of charge, a Defendant could be facing a probationary sentence at worse, all the way up to a decade behind bars. If you or a loved one has been charged with receiving stolen property, shoplifting, theft by deception, burglary, possession of burglary tools, trespassing or any other offense for that matter in New Jersey, the criminal defense attorneys at Proetta & Oliver. We serve all of New Jersey, including counties like Bergen, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Essex and Union County. To schedule a free initial consultation today with one of our New Jersey shoplifting lawyers then please contact us at (800) 463-0506. For more information on the offense of receiving stolen property in New Jersey, please see below.
Receiving Stolen Property Attorneys in NJ
The crime of receiving stolen property basically seeks to prosecute anyone who is found to be in possession of stolen property. Most of these charges arise out of a situation in which the underlying theft and/or shoplifting offense already occurred. All receiving stolen property charges in New Jersey will be governed by NJSA 2C:20-7. The statute states in pertinent part,
- A person is guilty of theft if he knowingly receives or brings into this State movable property of another knowing that it has been stolen, or believing that it has probably been stolen.
In order for a Defendant to be convicted of this offense, the prosecution must prove the following elements:
- That the Defendant knowingly received movable property of another;
- The property was stolen; &
- The defendant either knew or believed that it had probably been stolen at the time they received the property.
So the Defendant’s mental state is one of the key things to look to attack from a defense standpoint. Fi you would like to speak to one of our New Jersey criminal defense attorneys about your options then please contact us at (800) 463-0506.
Is there Jail time on a Receiving Stolen Property Charge in NJ?
Receiving stolen property charges in New Jersey can be a misdemeanor or a second, third or fourth degree felony offense. The degree that a Defendant is charged will will depend directly on the dollar amount of the “property” in question. Here is a chart that breaks down not only the difference between the degree but the potential penalties that one faces.
|Degree||Value of the Property||Jail Time|
2nd Degree Felony
|Over $75,000||5 – 10 Years||$150,000|
3rd Degree Felony
Over $500 but less than $75,000
|3 – 5 Years||$15,000|
|4th Degree Felony||Over $200 but less than $500||18 Months|
|Disorderly Persons Offense||Less than $200||6 Months|
Receiving Stolen Property Lawyer in Ocean County NJ
The Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver has been defending clients accused of receiving stolen property, fencing, theft by deception, shoplifting, burglary, criminal mischief and theft in courts throughout New Jersey for years now. If you have been charged with any of the aforementioned offenses in towns like Bridgewater, Edison, Freehold, Wayne, Clifton, Paramus, Lawrence, Union Township, Toms River or anywhere else in New Jersey for that matter, we can help. If you would like to speak to one of our attorneys about your potential options, then please contact us at (800) 463-0506.